Mid Life Crisis Redux

Convalescing, the final installment

Gamer girl pic

So, the first time I had a mid-life crisis my former life partner had tried to kill me. That does make one take stock of one’s life choices. This time, my body decided to develop some potentially life-threatening issues. Though my recent surgery corrected those issues, I still have the feeling that life is too short (and too long) to spend the bulk of my waking hours doing something I don’t love.

Yes, I still blog and I still game. I’ve started exercising again. But let’s face it. Y’all know the drill. You go to the evil day job because you have responsibilities. You grit your teeth doing stuff that at best you can tolerate and at worst makes you want to eat a bullet. You do this for at least eight hours. You come home and the few hours you have to indulge your own wants and needs, well, it’s just never enough. Not to mention you’re usually too mentally wrecked and physically exhausted to do much more than eat and sit on the couch, fighting the urge to dive headlong into full-blown alcoholism. Oh…is that last bit just me? My bad, lol.

And then I see folks who’ve made that commitment to become a gaming blogger, an eSports competitor, a YouTuber, or a Twitch streamer. I see those people achieving things I only dream about and I think, “Why not me?” But I know the answer to that question. Every time I decide I’m going to embrace a dream…I punk out. I’ve done it my whole life. I let the voices in my head telling me I’m not good enough take over. I allow the unknown to overwhelm me. I worry about making money and my future and I scramble for what’s safe and easy. Which for the last ten years has been pharmacy.

And don’t get me wrong, I like cooking drugs—legally of course, not breaking bad just yet. Though there is a part of me that wonders if I can compound complicated formulas like lipo-boost and super-saturated vitamin C solutions, could I cook up some meth? Like the Heisenberg beautiful blue crystal? Meh, just a random curiosity I’ll never indulge. But I still wonder. Not that any of this has f%&k all to do with my gaming blogger aspirations except I have confidence in my compounding skills because I do it often with a high rate of success. Perhaps I’d have more faith in my ability to write something other gamers would read…well, if I did it more f%&king often.

For over a year, I felt miserable and I did little more than work, eat, game, and sleep. My blog schedule definitely took a hit. And maybe I’m not blessed enough to quit the EDJ and embrace my inner artist full time. But post-surgery and post-convalescence I do have more energy. I feel better. I feel good. So, I need to heed the advice I always give aspiring authors: just write. It’s that f%&king simple. And I’m a published author for f%&k’s sake (I really am, no cap). I got mad writing skittles. And I spend more time gaming than is healthy. So why not me? It’s time to do the damn thing.

I’d love to hear from other bloggers and content creators. How do you keep your eyes on the prize?

Thanks so much for stopping by (and reading this far into my post πŸ₯°) I’m not a paid blogger…yet! Your support can help me reach that goal. Please feel free to leave your thoughts, subscribe to my blog or hit me up on Twitter @cindyjacks. If you’d like to buy me a coffee or leave a tip you can do so at ko-fi https://ko-fi.com/grownupgamergirl or cash app $cindyjacksbooks. All donations to my online content are much appreciated, but definitely not required to keep coming back to visit! Game on, my friends!

10 thoughts on “Mid Life Crisis Redux

  1. Hi there, I’m a british comic blogger who has just celebrated my ninth anniversary with WordPress, and what has kept me regularly pushing out posts for the past nine years? the fact that I blog about what i love in life, as someone who experiences social and general anxiety issues, I find writing and sharing what I love online extremely cathartic and therapeutic, it also helps me find like minded fans to share the love.

    I only recently discovered your blog and have been enjoying the content, keep going, the talent is most definitely there! Have a wonderful day! πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hey, thanks so much for the encouragement. I agree writing definitely helps with all the anxiety and frustration that comes along with being human. Props that you’ve been a blogger for 9 years! That’s amazing! Can’t wait to check out your content 😊

      Liked by 1 person

  2. What I’d say is, you’re probably doing more than you realise! Like you say, you’re a published author, and you are doing the gaming blogger thing – this post is proof of that. I think most of us also need to remember that just operating as a human and going to a job is taxing enough half the time, and we shouldn’t forget to be proud of ourselves for that.

    Especially in modern times, when we’re exposed to so many people doing so many things, I find that I always feel I should be doing the next thing. I should be learning illustration! I should be learning to play music! Hell, I should be learning to drive, but how time and life has gone, it just hasn’t materialised.

    It can be hard to block that all out and focus on what we have achieved, which is usually a lot, and more than you think πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you so much for the encouragement! You’re right, often life unfolds in ways we never expected. It’s good to have goals, but easy to be too hard on ourselves. Thanks so much for your kindness. Much appreciated 😊 And I know you’ll achieve your goals too, my friend!

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Glad to read you’re doing a bit better! And also happy to see another post by you. I did miss them… I truly wish you all the best and I’ll keep an eye out for future posts. And when you review a game again, I’ll be shore to boost it to the FediVerse πŸ˜‰

    Like

  4. Sounds like you’re looking for new adventures. You brought up Twitch and content creators. You can always team up with someone at first and get started streaming if you’d want to get into game streaming. But there are actually a lot of things you can stream on Twitch. It doesn’t always have to be games. People stream everything from cooking to knitting. Many people are “Just Chatting”. You could always run around with a GoPro and just vlog on YouTube. I think it’s a matter of just getting comfortable with a new venture, whatever that might be for you.

    How do I keep my eye on the prize? I try not to look at a prize, per say. lol… I do live stream. But I know it will never be a secondary income for me. I’m very well aware of that fact. So, I don’t even think about the numbers really. It’s just plain fun. It’s entertaining for me, for the people I stream with, and the few who watch. And I’ve made some really good friends just giving this live streaming thing a shot. πŸ˜‰ I think if you have realistic goals, like just having lots of fun with friends, it’s a good anchor. And I think people like to see and hear interactions between people who are good friends in a game having fun. I think it gives people who watch a live stream a sense of inclusion when it comes to all the laughs. πŸ™‚ And I really don’t care if I’m streaming to 5 or 500 people. As long as I have them engaged and feeling like they’re part of the fun, I’ve done what I set out to do. Life sucks sometimes. If I can distract someone for a little while, then I’m glad I could do that.

    You should research what people do on Twitch and other platforms as far as content creation. Then, see what feels right for you. And don’t be afraid to ask your friends for some advice, guidance, or even a little help setting up something new and exciting for you. πŸ™‚

    You know who you can reach out to should you need them… πŸ˜‰

    ~A

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Good advice, A. And it’s true you should always create just for yourself and if success comes, then it comes. And you’re right, I do know a few folks I can stream with to start a new adventure πŸ˜†πŸ‘Š I definitely need to mix things up a bit. Variety is the spice of life, amirite?

      Like

  5. It’s an ongoing struggle and I relate to this 100%!
    As to the question of how I keep going?
    I believe my autism plays a part there; when writing became part of my daily routine, it became something I was compelled to do or it’d cause me quite severe stress.
    So I make sure to write every day. Though I started as a gaming blogger, it then became a challenge to find something new to write about every day so I just decided I’d write about whatever I’d read or seen or done, not just what I’d played.
    So yeah, that’s probably not helpful.
    I did find that the more I adhered to a daily routine though, the more my confidence rose and the less time it took me to actually get something written too!
    You’re a great writer. Whatever you do and however long it takes you to have the energy to write again – you got this! ☺️

    Like

Leave a comment