Stolen Paradise

Me late for work

Okay, I’m not proud, but last night I stayed up giggling and talking too late with my honey boo. Like waaaay too late. Like last call at a bar too late. And then this morning I slept through my alarm. Were I twenty-something that wouldn’t be a big deal, but um, I’m damn near fifty. I don’t do that sh!t. Like everrrrr.

But I did do that sh!t. And the less you do this and the more grown-up job you have, the less able you are to call in “sick”. And the less able you are to pull off the quick-change. Sad, but true.

And as I frantically tried to figure out how to take a shower, pull on compression socks while half wet, and throw on some scrubs….okay, that’s not hard. Working in scrubs is like working in pajamas. And I don’t even wear makeup. But still, I need to eat. Oh and being an old lady, I got meds to take. And I need caffeine. No, hear me out. I NEED CAFFEINE. As i posited the theory before. I’m an old lady. I need my motherfunkin’ caffeeeeeeeine. There was no f$%king way I was gonna be ready and make it to work even within an hour of start time.

I struggled with it. I’m not a kid. I show up. I do the damn thing. Unshowered and half-dressed, I sat, my head in my hands. My work day was dead. I called it at 837am. I texted my boss to notify him of the flatline. And after the self-shaming subsided…I realized…I could game all f%&king day!

GOOOOOOOOOL! Golaso! Golaso! Golaso! You World Cup fans know what I’m talking about.

Approaching my XBox was like a quote from Milky Chance, “We need to fetch back the time they have stolen from us.”

What did I play? Does it really matter? If I could have Tango-ed over to my beloved I would have. T…A…N-G-O. My gamers know what I’m talking about. It was like Gotam Project played in my head. Hay milonga de amor…

It wasn’t a planned day off and that made taking up the controller all the sweeter. I’ve talked about the EDJ and what it does to a gamer. But for twenty-four hours, I didn’t have to be Cindy. I could be Foxx Miyamoto, the dreamer. The one with many lives.

Totally worth the PTO.

Thanks so much for stopping by (and reading this far into my post šŸ„°) I’m not a paid blogger…yet! Your support can help me reach that goal. Please feel free to leave your thoughts, subscribe to my blog or hit me up on Twitter @cindyjacks. If you’d like to buy me a coffee or leave a tip you can do so at ko-fi https://ko-fi.com/grownupgamergirl or cash app $cindyjacksbooks. All donations to my online content are much appreciated, but definitely not required to keep coming back to visit! Game on, my friends!

Leave a comment