Evil Day Career?

Me smiling in sterile dispensing, wearing my work jacket and scrubs

I’ve spoken many times on this blog about the evil day job (EDJ), lamenting the amount of time and energy it eats up. But something happened this week that makes me wonder if I’ve inadvertently formed the EDJ into a career path.

When I think of my life goals, writing springs to mind. Over the past couple years that goal has been refined to writing about gaming. I’ve given little thought to where being a pharmacy tech will take me. Don’t get me wrong, I enjoy some aspects of the EDJ, but I don’t ever worry about or consider making moves to further said career. But it’s happened organically without me even realizing.

The week after Labor Day week, I start a good paying position as the pharmacy tech instructor for the local technical institute. I never imagined going so far in this field. But it seems over the past 9 years I have learned a thing or two.

As with any change, I wonder how this will affect my writing time and ability to find inspiration (meaning gaming time, lol). The days I work, I have a split shift. Five hours in the morning and five hours in the evening. This leaves my afternoons free and it’s my goal to use that time for writing, especially blogging. And since I work four 10-hour days, I have every Friday off. Yep, I get a three day weekend every week. That will be the perfect time for gaming, gaming, and more gaming.

It’s strange how everything in life can fall into place with perfect precision without really trying all that much. Okay, I do work hard, but I never planned out my future. But the stars aligned and somehow everything worked out. I wasn’t even looking for a new job when the school emailed me and invited me to interview. I think this new endeavor will also provide more time for the things I’m passionate about. But I suppose I can no longer call being a pharmacy tech the evil day job. I’ve somehow parlayed it into an evil day career.

Hey, thanks for reading my quick little musing. If you’ve ever found yourself in a similar situation, I’d love to hear about it in the comments. I’m not a paid blogger. If you enjoyed my content, please consider tipping me $1 https://ko-fi.com/grownupgamergirl or cash app $cindyjacksbooks. All donations to my online content are much appreciated, but definitely not required to keep coming back to visit! Please feel free to leave your thoughts (politelyπŸ˜‰), subscribe to my blog or hit me up on Twitter @cindyjacks.

3 thoughts on “Evil Day Career?

      1. Fingers crossed 🀞🏻 for you! 😁
        Things are going ok at the moment. Trying to write about it as I go πŸ˜‰
        You’re very welcome. I always enjoy catching up with your posts.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment