When a Gamer Girl Turns 50

The big five-oh. Yep. Yeeeepppp. Half a century. I took a few days off from writing to reflect on life. Not to mention, my lovin’ man spoiled me rotten all week. I’m sure I’ve gained five pounds from all the treats and special dinners, lol. And fine, yes, I was binge gaming, okay?! Geez.

Last Saturday, a skin for my XBox and controller showed up. And since I have a thing for sunflowers, I had to apply it right away.

We played Godfall the whole week and perfected our builds. The Ascended Tower of Trials will fall. Oh, yes, it will fall.

I woke last Monday, my actual birthday to Jedi Survivor already installed on my console. I’d wanted the game since it’d released. I was four years old when I saw Star Wars at the drive-in with my family. Apparently, (at least I’ve been told) I spent the next week insisting my hair be done Leia-style and parroting, “Get this walking carpet out of my way.” The Star Wars Saga is imprinted deep in my psyche. And a well-crafted sequel to Fallen Order is like falling in love again. And Survivor has the Jedi mindtrick! The Jedi mindtrick! Sorry, I had a fan girl moment. The game is a solid follow up to the first installment. And I’ve definitely got another “To All the Cals I’ve Killed Before” video. It’s a lot of complicated platforming. Cal was doomed in my hands, I know this about myself and have accepted it, lol.

Screenshot, Jedi Survivor on XBox

All in all, I had a glorious week gaming. And for my big present, my honey got me a Microsoft Go Surface 3 with a data plan so I can actually see the mobile games I play…uh…I mean so I can write more easily on the go. Yes, that’s what I meant. Write. Yeah…

I had some morose moments. Special days and holidays are still difficult without my parents. Especially on my birthday. I mean, they’re the reason for the season after all. But I’ll always miss them and part of grief is accepting that pain and remembering the joy. Like going to the drive-in in my feetie jammies to watch what will always be one of my favorite movies.

It’d be easy to look back on the last fifty years and look at all I’ve lost. And I’ve lost quite a bit in recent history. But I choose to look at the blessings I’ve gained and the love that makes every day worth living. And sharing a love of gaming with those who love me…well, to quote an old Mastercard commercial: priceless.

Please support my fellow bloggers participating in Blaugust! All wonderful folks and so many unique perspectives on life.

Blaugust 2023 photo

Thank you for reading my work! I’m not a paid blogger. If you enjoyed my content please consider tipping me $1 https://ko-fi.com/grownupgamergirl or cash app $cindyjacksbooks. All donations to my online content are much appreciated, but definitely not required to keep coming back to visit! Please feel free to leave your thoughts (politely๐Ÿ˜‰), subscribe to my blog or hit me up on Twitter @cindyjacks.

Game on, my friends!

One thought on “When a Gamer Girl Turns 50

Leave a comment